Rallycross is a combination between rallying and circuit racing. It is head-to-head short, sharping racing on mixed surfaces (dirt and asphalt) contained within amphitheatre venues. High profile drivers are equipped with RX Supercars with over 600bhp and the ability to accelerate from 0- 60mph in less than two seconds – faster than an F1 car.

What is the history of rallycross?

Rallycross was invented by Robert Reed, who was the producer on ITV’s World of Sport programme at the time. The first event took place at Lydden Hill on 4 February back in 1967, where it quickly became a staple of Saturday afternoon sports in the UK with both ITV and BBC broadcasting rallycross. The popularity of rallycross soon spread, with the first event on the European mainland taking place in Holland in 1969, with the Scandinavian rallycross debut taking place in Sweden two years later.


How does rallycross work?

Each event is made up of an open practice sessions, four timed qualifying heats, two knock out semi- finals and one final. There are four qualifying heats with a maximum of five cars starting abreast in each race over four laps.


  • –  QUALIFYING HEAT 1. Starting positions in the races are determined by a draw that is carried out beforehand.
  • –  QUALIFYING HEAT 2. Race starters determined according to timed classification of the first qualifying heat. This follows the same format until qualifying heat 4After the qualifying heats, there will be an intermediate classification according to each driver’s total points scored in the four heats (see scoring section below).
  •  – Semi-finals – There will be six starters arranged on a two-by-two grid and each semi-final will be run over six laps. The top 12 scoring drivers in the intermediate classification will qualify for the semi-finals. The winner, second and third placed drivers in each semi-final will qualify for the final.
  • – Finals – Finals will also have six starters, arranged over three rows and will be run over six laps.
    The semi-final winner with the highest number of points in the event will start on the ‘pole’ side of the grid, followed by the other semi-final winner. The same procedure will be used between the two second-placed drivers and two third-placed drivers.
    The winner of the final will be the winner of the event. Positions one to six in the final classification will be according to the result of the final. The remaining drivers will be classified according to points scored in the event.
  • – What is a Joker Lap? – A Joker Lap is an alternative section of track that adds at least two seconds to the lap time, and through which every driver must pass once in each race, semi-final and final. Failure to take the Joker Lap is penalised by 30-seconds in the qualifying heats, and by being classified last and loss of points in a semi-final or final.
READ  Result from the USGP 2016


How do points work?

Drivers score Championship points at three stages of the event.

The top 16 drivers after the four qualifying heats (Intermediate Classification) score points starting from 16 for the best placed, down to one point for 16th place.
The top 12 progress to two six car semi-finals in which points from six for the winner to one for sixth place are awarded. The top three from each semi-final then enter the final.

Scoring for the finals are as follows:

  • 1st: 8 points
  • 2nd: 5 points
  • 3rd: 4 points
  • 4th: 3 points
  • 5th: 2 points
  • 6th: 1 point

Maximum score in an event is 30 points (16+6+8). All points scored in all 12 rounds count.
The team’s Championship will include all points scored by the two team drivers at all events. At least one driver in a team must start in all 13 events. The second car can be driven by different drivers and will score points for the team no matter who is driving.




What classes are there?

In the FIA World Rallycross Championship, the following classes exist:

–  SUPERCAR. Headline category. Hot hatch/super mini turned into the ultimate racecars by the addition of turbocharged, two-litre, 600bhp engines and four-wheel drive. They accelerate from 0-60mph(100km/h) in 1.9 seconds – faster than an F1 car.

–  SUPER1600. Front-wheel drive ‘hot hatches’ using 1600cc engines where many of the top Supercar drivers have developed from including Doran, Timerzyanov, Bakkerud and Nitiss.

–  TOURINGCAR. Rear-wheel drive and two-litre engines. Cars produced with front-drive can be converted to rear-drive. 21st centrury interpretation of traditional rallycross cars also a development ground for Supercar drivers.

READ  No. 6 - Gamle Strynefjellsvei - Road trip to Nordkapp

–  RX LITES. Spec category for identical 310bhp, mid-engined, four-wheel drive racecars built by Olsbergs MSE. Guest support category at selected World RX events.



Tyres: Cooper Tire 205/260-17 or 225/640-17 dry (moulded tread) or 210/635 R17 wet (moulded tread)
control tyres. One compound of each.
Fuel: P1 Racing Fuel 102 octane FIA-spec control fuel



Power: 600bhp

Min weight: 1300kg inc. driver
Gearbox: free (manual shift, no driver aids, no paddle shift, etc). Typically five or six-speed sequential
Torque: 900Nm
Capacity: 2050cc turbocharged (with 45mm restrictor)
0-100km/h: 1.9s
Wheels: 17in diameter, max 250mm width


Power: 310bhp
Min weight: 1210kg inc. driver
Gearbox: 6 speed sequential SADEV
Torque: 300Nm
Capacity: Naturally aspired 2400cc
0-100km/h: 1.9s
Wheels: 17in diameter, max 250mm width
Tyres: Cooper Tire 205/620-17 dry (moulded tread) or 210/635 R17 wet (moulded tread) control tyres. One compound.
Fuel: P1 Racing Fuel 102 octane FIA-spec control fuel